Home

home |hōm|
noun
1 the place where one lives permanently, esp. as a member of a family or household : I was nineteen when I left home and went to college | they have made Provence their home.
• the family or social unit occupying such a place : he came from a good home and was well educated.
• a house or an apartment considered as a commercial property : low-cost homes for first-time buyers.
• a place where something flourishes, is most typically found, or from which it originates : Piedmont is the home of Italy’s finest red wines.
informal a place where an object is kept.
2 an institution for people needing professional care or supervision : an old people’s home.
3 Sports the goal or end point.
• the place where a player is free from attack.
• (in lacrosse) each of the three players stationed nearest their opponents’s goal.
Baseball short for home plate .
• a game played or won by a team on their own ground.
adjective [ attrib. ]
1 of or relating to the place where one lives : I don’t have your home address.
• made, done, or intended for use in the place where one lives : traditional home cooking.
• relating to one’s own country and its domestic affairs : Japanese competitors are selling cars for lower prices in the U.S. than in their home market.
2 (of a sports team or player) belonging to the country or locality in which a sporting event takes place : the home team.
• played on or connected with a team’s own ground : their first home game of the season.
3 denoting the administrative center of an organization : the company has moved its home office.
adverb
to the place where one lives : what time did he get home last night?
• in or at the place where one lives : I stayed home with the kids.
• to the end or conclusion of a race or something difficult : the favorite romped home six lengths clear.
Baseball to or toward home plate.
• to the intended or correct position : he drove the bolt home noisily.
verb [ intrans. ]
1 (of an animal) return by instinct to its territory after leaving it : a dozen geese homing to their summer nesting grounds.
• (of a pigeon bred for long-distance racing) fly back to or arrive at its loft after being released at a distant point.
2 ( home in on) move or be aimed toward (a target or destination) with great accuracy : more than 100 missiles were launched, homing in on radar emissions.
• focus attention on : a teaching style that homes in on what is of central importance for each student.
PHRASES
at home in one’s own house. • in one’s own neighborhood, town, or country : he has been consistently successful both at home and abroad.comfortable and at ease in a place or situation : sit down and make yourself at home. • confident or relaxed about doing or using something : he was quite at home talking about Eisenstein or Brecht. • ready to receive and welcome visitors : she took to her room and was not at home to friends. • (with reference to sports fixtures) at a team’s own ground : Houston lost at home to Phoenix.
bring something home to someone make someone realize the full significance of something : her first-hand account brought home to me the pain of the experience.
close (or near) to home (of a remark or topic of discussion) relevant or accurate to the point that one feels uncomfortable or embarrassed.
come home Golf play the second nine holes in a round of eighteen holes. Compare with go out (see go 1 ).
come home to someone (of the significance of something) become fully realized by someone : the full enormity of what was happening came home to Sara.
drive (or hammer or press or ram) something home make something clearly and fully understood by the use of repeated or forcefully direct arguments.
hit (or strike) home (of a blow or a missile) reach an intended target. • (of words) have the intended, esp. unsettling or painful, effect on their audience : she could see that her remark had hit home. • (of the significance or true nature of a situation) become fully realized by someone : the full impact of life as a celebrity began to hit home.
home free having successfully achieved or being within sight of achieving one’s objective : at 7–0 they should have been home free.
a home away from home a place where one is as happy, relaxed, or comfortable as in one’s own home.
home is where the heart is proverb your home will always be the place for which you feel the deepest affection, no matter where you are.
home sweet home used as an expression of one’s pleasure or relief at being in or returning to one’s own home.
DERIVATIVES
homelike |ˈhōmˌlīk| adjective
ORIGIN Old English hām, of Germanic origin; related to Dutch heem and German Heim.
from Oxford American Dictionaries

When I moved here I didn’t think about feeling displaced, and I had no anxiety other than making sure everything was taken care of for my visa. I only doubted my decision for a few hours, starting from the taxi ride to the guest house I first stayed in. The outskirts we drove through on the way to the center were industrial and bleak. Also the taxi driver did not understand a word I was saying, nor did I understand him. Only then did I find myself thinking ‘What the hell am I doing here?’ Then came the guest house with no elevators, where I had a single room the size of a small bathroom on the second floor. But from the next morning onward, I was fine. I’m no stranger to being in new places, and it definitely excited me more than anything else. I suppose being a third culture kid had something to do with it. I was also excited by the thought of starting over, with nothing but 23 kilograms of my former life.

What I do find hard is the feeling I have now: not nostalgia, not homesickness, but the feeling of being transplanted. To me home is somewhere full of the things I’ve collected: books, clothes, magazine clippings, paints, paint brushes, cups, picture frames, scraps of paper, old work, work in progress, things that were given to me, etc. I don’t necessarily need to be surrounded by the same objects as I used to be, but I need to be engulfed by things. I suppose this is very consumerist of me, but I need stuff.

Leave a Reply

